What are the facts about Second Offense DUII in Portland?
Though first-offense DUII penalties and fines can range under Oregon law, the fines and punishments for a second offense are even tougher. Defendants facing a second-offense DUII conviction find themselves in need of an attorney to help them navigate the severe state criminal regulations. Third offenses now may be classified as a felony under certain circumstances. Oregon has some of the toughest DUII laws in the nation, so a qualified and expert DUII attorney is absolutely essential.
Under Oregon state law, second offense penalties can include a cash fine of not less than $1,500 and up to $6250, as well as court costs. Second Offenders may not qualify for diversion programs, but often will face jail-time. Offenders may also be required to attend treatment and a Victims Impact seminar at their own expense.
Second Offenders additionally face mandatory suspensions of their Oregon state driver’s license. Convicted offenders might be allowed to apply for a hardship license following an initial mandatory suspension period that will allow them to drive to and from work and other necessary destinations.
If you’ve been charged with a second DUII, you need a qualified Oregon attorney to fight for you. Contact Gilroy Napoli today to find out the many ways we can help with a second offense DUII.